Many Virginia incumbents headed back to Congress

Left: Rep. Bobby Scott, Rep. Robert Wittman

HAMPTON ROADS, Va. (WAVY/AP) — Virginia’s incumbent congressional representatives made a strong showing in Tuesday’s election.

Incumbents have been declared winners of races in seven districts, including two locally.

On the Ballot: House of Representatives 3rd District

In the 3rd District, Democratic Representative Bobby Scott defeated Republican M.L. “Marty” Williams, a retired Chesapeake police officer.

Congressman Scott has served the 3rd District for 24 years and before that, served 15 years in the Virginia General Assembly.

Scott declared victory Tuesday night in a statement, which said in part:

I want to thank the citizens of Virginia’s third congressional district for their strong vote of confidence in me and my record fighting for them in Washington. Due to court ordered redistricting, several communities that I have not had the honor of representing during my tenure in Congress were added to this district. I enjoyed introducing myself to these new areas and I am eternally grateful for the support these new voters gave me in this campaign.”

A three judge panel redrew the boundaries for the 3rd District because they said Virginia had illegally packed too many black voters into it. The new lines include less of the Richmond area and more of Hampton Roads. It reduces the number of minority voters from 56 percent to about 45 percent.

On the Ballot: House of Representatives 1st District

In the 1st Congressional District, Republican Rob Wittman won another term, defeating Democratic challenger M.D. Rowe and Glenda Gail Parker, an independent.

Wittman has been serving the 1st District since 2007. He serves on the House Armed Services Committee and the Committee on Natural Resources.

On the Ballot: House of Representatives 2nd District

Republican Scott Taylor won the election in Virginia’s 2nd Congressional District, defeating Democrat Shaun Brown.

Taylor, a former Navy SEAL and state delegate from Virginia Beach, will succeed moderate Republican Scott Rigell, who decided not to seek a fourth term.

Taylor’s most significant challenge came in the primary, where he defeated Randy Forbes, a sitting congressman who tried to move from the 4th District to the 2nd District after a court-ordered redistricting erased the GOP’s edge in his own district.

The Democratic candidate — Brown, a community activist from Newport News — was the only Democrat who filed to run for the seat.

On the Ballot: House of Representatives 4th District

Democrat Donald McEachin won in Virginia’s 4th Congressional District, giving Democrats control of a seat that has been in Republican hands since 2001.

McEachin, a state senator from the Richmond area, defeated Republican Mike Wade, the sheriff in Henrico County.

While the 4th District has long been represented by a Republican, McEachin’s election was no surprise. The district boundaries were altered significantly after a panel of federal judges ruled that black voters had been wrongly packed into a neighboring district. The redistricting made the 4th District, which stretches from the Richmond suburbs to parts of Hampton roads, significantly more friendly to Democrats.

The district had been represented by Republican Randy Forbes, who tried unsuccessfully to run in the 2nd District after the new boundaries were drawn.

McEachin released a statement about the victory Tuesday night:

I want to thank the voters for their confidence in me. I go to Washington to serve them — whether they supported me or not. I will work to create jobs, strengthen our public schools, help military families and veterans, keep us safe and secure, and address climate change… Now, let’s turn our attention to moving forward. I will work with legislators on both sides of the aisle to make the Fourth District in Virginia the best place to live, work and raise a family.”

Election Results