Suffolk official ‘disappointed’ city wasn’t included in disaster declaration

Flooding at a Suffolk home on October 10, 2016.

SUFFOLK, Va. (WAVY) — Nine Hampton Roads cities were included in the request for federal disaster assistance after Hurricane Matthew. President Barack Obama approved federal aid for four of the nine cities: Chesapeake, Newport News, Norfolk and Virginia Beach.

Deputy Fire Chief Brian Spicer, Emergency Management Coordinator for the City of Suffolk, said the city is going through the appeals process to try to get help.

“We are disappointed that we didn’t receive the declaration,” Spicer said in a news release issued Friday. “We are currently working through the appeals process and are encouraging Suffolk citizens and businesses that experienced any damage from Hurricane Matthew to immediately contact Planning & Community Development at 757-514-4150, so that their impact can also be included in the appeals process. If we are not made aware of these damages, our submission figures aren’t complete and may have a bearing on future determinations.”

Local agents to help victims of Hurricane Matthew

In the meantime, the U.S. Small Business Administration says small businesses and most private, nonprofit organizations in counties and cities next to North Carolina, including Suffolk, can apply for SBA  Economic Injury Disaster Loans. Find more information about the program here and apply online here. The date to return applications is July 10, 2017.

Also, property owners in Suffolk may be eligible for a reduction in tax levies if buildings were destroyed or damaged by Matthew.

Suffolk residents with storm damage may get reduction in tax levies

Residents with questions or seeking more information can call the Assessor’s office at 757-514-7475, Monday through Friday, between 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m.

Disaster assistance available for some Virginia farmers