Federal aid now available to 7 more NC counties impacted by Matthew

Workers with the City of Lumberton use boats to travel down West 5th Street to the cities water treatment plant through floodwaters caused by rain from Hurricane in Lumberton, N.C., Wednesday, Oct. 12, 2016. (AP Photo/Mike Spencer)

NORTH CAROLINA (WAVY) — Disaster assistance has been approved to help individual residents in an additional seven North Carolina counties as they clean up from Hurricane Matthew.

Anson, Carteret, Chatham, Northampton, Perquimans, Richmond and Scotland were all approved.

Carteret and Perquimans counties had already been approved for federal public assistance to help local governments and non-profits. Thursday’s approval means individuals are now also eligible to apply for aid.

With the addition of these counties, 45 counties have now been approved for federal individual and public assistance. Two counties have been approved for public assistance only. Nearly $64 million has already been approved for individuals who have been affected by the storm.

FEMA releases latest North Carolina assistance numbers

The 45 counties currently eligible to apply for individual assistance are: Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Moore, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, Wake, Washington, Wayne and Wilson.

To apply for federal aid, go to DisasterAssistance.gov, call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 or download the FEMA Mobile App.

FEMA has set up a disaster recovery center which will move throughout Dare County to help give all residents affected by Matthew a chance to get help.

The center will be set up in Kill Devil Hills from Tuesday, Nov. 8, through Thursday, Nov. 10, in the north parking lot of the Kill Devil Hills Fire Station, located at 1634 N. Croatan Highway.

The center will then move to Manteo and will be open on Saturday, Nov. 12, Monday, Nov. 14 and Tuesday, Nov. 15. It will be closed Sunday. The Manteo location will be located at the Dare County officer, 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive.

The recovery center’s regular hours are from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Looking for a recovery center near you? They are set up all over the disaster-affected counties of North Carolina. To find one close by, call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 or go online.

If you’d like to donate to the North Carolina Disaster Relief Fund for Hurricane Matthew, text NCRECOVERS to 30306 or visit NCDisasterRelief.org.