Visitor access open in most areas of Dare County north of Oregon Inlet

Andy Fox/WAVY Photo

DARE COUNTY, N.C. (WAVY) — Visitor access is now open for most of Dare County north of the Oregon Inlet.

Officials announced the opening at 9:30 a.m. Tuesday, noting that restrictions remain in place for visitors to Hatteras Island. Non-resident property owners and employees are allowed to re-enter.

Access to Dare County and Hatteras Island was restricted in the days after Hurricane Matthew surged across the Outer Banks. The storm caused numerous roadways to flood, and caused a section of Highway 12 to collapse.

Photos: NC 12 overwash from Hurricane Matthew

Dare County announced Thursday that access is unrestricted to all areas of Dare County north of Oregon Inlet and for the Hatteras Island villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, and Buxton. Access restrictions for Frisco will be lifted on Friday at 7 a.m. Restrictions for all areas of Dare County, including Hatteras Village, will be lifted by 7 a.m. Saturday.

Officials say visitors should check with their rental company to confirm reservations before traveling back into the area. Homes along the Outer Banks sustained damage during Matthew.

Information on reentry passes and procedures for Dare County

Access to Hatteras Island is permitted only for the following:

  • Priority 1: Essential personnel for utilities, government, medical and damage assessment.
  • Priority 2: Permanent residents will be allowed reentry with a valid North Carolina driver’s license with a local address or a current county property tax receipt.
  • Priority 3: Non-resident property owners and non-resident employees of businesses with proper reentry passes.

Curfews were in place for parts of Dare County, but have since been lifted.

Although flood waters are beginning to subside, dangerous conditions still exist. Officials advise that you stay off the roads and avoid travel.

NC 12 near Kitty Hawk Road was eroded by Matthew.

Photos: Damage from Hurricane Matthew

If you are in need of disaster relief assistance, contact the Dare County Department of Health and Human Services, Social Services Division at 475-5500 for those north of the Bonner Bridge and 475-9320 for Hatteras Island.

Find more information about past travel restrictions and debris pick up here.