State of Emergency issued for Dare County

DARE COUNTY, N.C. (WAVY) – A State of Emergency was issued for Dare County and all six towns Tuesday afternoon, effective immediately. This allows local officials to issue mandatory evacuation orders as needed.

The Dare County Control Group will meet again Wednesday to review the updated forecast. The next update will be issued Wednesday afternoon.

WAVY Hurricane Center | Interactive Hurricane Tracker

According to a release from county officials, no re-entry passes will be issued by Dare County Emergency Management during the state of emergency.

Dare County residents can register to receive email alerts directly from Emergency Management at

Monday afternoon, North Carolina Governor declared a state of emergency for 66 counties across the state, in part to help farmers clear their field of crops already impacted by weeks of heavy rain.