Record-setting Great Britain, Sir Bradley Wiggins beat Australia in men’s team pursuit

Great Britain, Wiggins beat Australia in men’s team pursuit

Team GB

Great Britain needed to set a world record to defeat the speedy Australians in men’s team pursuit and that’s exactly what they did.

Sir Bradley Wiggins, Ed Clancy, Steven Burke and Owain Doull set a world record earlier in the day during the first round only to break it during the gold medal round. The Rio crowd was cheering for Team GB as if they were on their home track.

The Australians lost a rider too early and couldn’t keep the lead they acquired in the first few laps. Alexander Edmondson, Callum Scotson, Sam Welsford and Jack Bobridge will take home the silver.

Denmark defeated New Zealand in the bronze medal matchup to finish third.

Comments are closed.