Almaz Ayana smashes record to win women’s 10,000m gold medal

Almaz Ayana

Gold:  Almaz Ayana
Silver: Vivian Cheruiyot
Bronze: Tirunesh Dibaba

Ethiopia’s Almaz Ayana broke the world record to win the women’s 10,000m gold medal in 29 minutes, 17.45 seconds.

The world record of 29:31.78 set by China’s Junxia Wang in 1993.

2015 world champion Vivian Cheruiyot earned the silver medal, while Tirunesh Dibaba, the 2008 and 2012 Olympic champion, claimed the bronze medal.

Comments are closed.