U.S. Olympic rookies lead 100m backstroke field

Murphy, Plummer lead 100m backstroke field

Ryan Murphy

First-time Olympians Ryan Murphy and David Plummer of Team USA lead the pack after the 100m backstroke semifinals. Murphy and Plummer advance to Monday’s final in first and second place, respectively, ahead of 2015 world champion Mitch Larkin of Australia.

Murphy clocked 52.49 seconds, separated by 0.01 from Plummer’s time. Larkin was two tenths of a second back with a time of 52.70 seconds.

Also in the field is 2012 Olympic bronze medalist in the event, Ryosuke Irie of Japan.

Defending Olympic champion, Matt Grevers, did not qualify to defend his gold from the U.S. Trials in June.

Comments are closed.