Emergency loan assistance available for some farmers in Hampton Roads

SUFFOLK, Va. (WAVY) — Some farmers in Hampton Roads may now be eligible to apply for emergency loan assistance.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued disaster designations for the following areas: Suffolk, Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Portsmouth, Isle of Wight, Southampton County, Sussex County, Emporia, Brunswick, Dinwiddie and Greensville County.

The farmers in those areas have eight months to apply for the emergency loan assistance from USDA’s Farm Service Agency, as long as they meet eligibility requirements.

The loans will help with damage and losses caused by excessive rain late last year.

Contact your local FSA office for more information: http://offices.sc.egov.usda.gov/locator/app?state=va&agency=fsa

Comments are closed.