VIRGINIA (WAVY) – Dry, windy conditions make for a winter weather hazard you might not expect … wildfires.
The Virginia Department of Forestry is very much aware of the potential danger and it’s trying to make sure it’s not realized.
Virginia’s 4 p.m. burning law went into effect Feb. 15 and will last until April 30. That means it’s illegal to burn anything before 4 p.m. each day within 300 feet of woodland, brush or dry grass fields and other flammable areas.
If caught violating the law, you could be fined up to $500 and may also have to pay for any property damage.